top of page
Search
  • dianafaruqui

Prompt D: Reflections on a Website Quick-Start Guide

Updated: Feb 12, 2022

In this Q&A blog, I share my thoughts on a recent deliverable I created for my ENC 4265 Writing for the Computer Industry course--a Website Quick-Start Guide. You'll learn what was simple and challenging about this task among other things.



What was easy for you and why?

Having created a step-by-step set of instructions in a previous semester, I was familiar with this process. At the time, I had to instruct both a peer and an older person on how to do the same task (create a gradient effect on a photo using Photoshop), but I had to compose each set of instructions in a way that would communicate effectively to each reader. So, creating a Website Quick-Start Guide this semester was a very similar process—breaking a big task into smaller steps and doing so in a way that effectively communicates to the audience.

Another easy aspect of creating the Quick-Start Guide was laying out the elements. Because of my experience with Photoshop, I was familiar with its tools and took advantage of its flexibility in designing documents. This allowed me to not be restricted to Microsoft Word or the like. Things like creating drop shadows beneath the screenshots and pink signals (arrows, circles, etc.) on those screenshots were simple for me.


What was more difficult for you and why?

As for what was difficult for me, I would say my complete inexperience with Wix. I had never heard of that site until this semester, and suddenly I was tasked with not only creating my own professional website but also compiling the steps for others to do so. I had to consult with some instructional videos before I could create my site, and still, the process was a bit muddy. As a beginner, it was a lot of trial and error. So, naturally, I had to focus a bit harder on getting the correct steps when creating the Quick-Start Guide


Adhering to the rubric for this assignment was also a bit of a challenge. I was instructed to do specific things like create two pages with title texts, but it was tempting to show how the title text could be edited for things like font and color. At times, I also felt like showing other unnecessary steps like reordering pages on the menu bar. But, I had to keep referring to the rubric for guidelines so as not to get carried away.


What did completing this assignment teach you about yourself and technical communication?

For so long, I have steered clear of creating websites (until just last year—2021) because I envisioned it requiring a bunch of coding that I wanted nothing to do with. However, I am slowly seeing that there are such user-friendly tools out there (Wix, for instance) that take away the need for coding and whatever other tedious parts could be involved in building a website. The fact that I can not only create a website with minimal hassle, but I can also teach someone else how to do the same, allowed me to feel more confident in myself. So, in the future, if a company or friend needs me to create a website, I feel capable now; or, if my boss asks me to figure out some other unfamiliar task on my own and later teach it, I can do so.


As for what this assignment taught me about technical communication (which was actually a reminder instead) is that audience comes first in the choices you make for a document. The rubric specified reaching an audience who is not tech-savvy (for example, someone setting up a website for their new bakery). These people need an easy-to-understand language that is not condescending. My communication was done with those ideas constantly in mind.


What would you do differently, based on the instructor's feedback?

I take feedback from my instructors seriously. They are the experts. Should my instructor make suggestions to the textual content--perhaps I did not include enough steps (or too many steps) or the instructions are unclear--I will revise accordingly. Or maybe the layout could be stronger. Likewise, I will see what I can do to edit the structure. Instructors are more than teachers--they also function as usability testers. Chances are, if something is "off" for them when viewing my deliverable, others will see it as the same.





20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page