top of page
Search
  • dianafaruqui

Prompt H: Usability Test

The “H” in “Prompt H” should stand for humbling because that’s what many usability tests are–humbling. Having my mom test my Ibotta mini-tutorial was no exception. I should add that asking her to test my ability to write clear instructions was risky. She is one to get flustered while trying to operate parking meter instructions. But, I knew that having her input would allow me to make unexpected tweaks and, thus, reach an audience like her.



The Set-Up

After downloading the Ibotta app onto her iPhone, creating an account for her, and having the Ibotta mini-tutorial open on my laptop, I gave her simple instructions along the line of: “Read aloud and let me know your thoughts, but I won’t be able to interfere.” (Of course I had already broken the “no interference rule” by prefacing that she didn’t have to choose the exact rebate item I used in the tutorial.) I told her I’d be recording her but to pretend I wasn’t there (I figured video would jog my memory of the details later).


The Struggles

Proximity: This was only a minor issue, but I observed that Figure B wasn’t immediately under the “Note:” that referenced it (Step 3 separated the two elements). The flow of reading was, thus, awkward as she had to skip Step 3 just to see Figure B, then scroll back up to Step 3 to continue the tutorial.


Item Confusion: Step 4 was probably the largest issue. It asked her to select a specific chocolate bar, so she was laser-focused on finding that exact item. (I had assumed she would know to choose any item she wanted because of the verbal instructions I had given her prior to her starting the tutorial. Also, I thought the tutorial’s opening paragraph made it clear that any item could be chosen.) To keep things moving, I again interfered and told her she must’ve forgotten that I told her she could choose any item. Her response: “Why did you put it (the chocolate bar) up there if I’m not supposed to get it!?” She then proceeded to look--unsuccessfully--for a different type of candy (sigh). I then said it does not have to be candy.


Non-Universal Steps: For some reason, Steps 10 & 11 did not apply to her. (They ask the user to ensure that certain criteria are met before attempting to earn a rebate, then instruct the user to click “Take photo” of the receipt.) Thankfully, this did not prevent her from trekking right along to the next applicable step.


The Successes

Readability: For the most part, the text seemed easy for her to read and comprehend–no grammar or jargon issues were observed.


Images: The images weren’t overlooked or ambiguous. Figures matched what was on her phone.


Mission Accomplished: After some hiccups, she was able to do what she came for–earn rebate money!


The Suggestions

Proximity Fix: To keep an optimal flow of reading, I may need to move certain Figures even closer to their references. This would eliminate an awkward flow of reading that could cause a person to lose their spot.


Item Confusion Fix: To eliminate item confusion when selecting a product, my mom suggested I refrain from naming an exact item and, instead, just keep it generic. I need to tell the user to choose any item of interest instead of assuming they’d see the Beyond Good Single Origin Chocolate as simply an example item. Noted. I guess my intro paragraph stating that “the same concepts can be applied to other stores and items” wasn’t clear enough.


Non-Universal Steps Fix: To address non-universal steps, I cannot assume that every phone (or even every iPhone) works the same. I need to test out the same process on multiple phones, computers, or whatever the case may be. Chances are, I will come across non-universal steps that need to be addressed in my tutorial.


I come away from this experience in awe of the value that usability testing provides. No amount of knowledge, cleverness, or attention to detail can replace the insights given by a user.





26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page