top of page
Search
  • dianafaruqui

Prompt A: More than Meets the Eye

Updated: Feb 12, 2022

I recently had the pleasure of reading an article by Orlee Gillis entitled “7 Rules for Choosing A Website Color Scheme.” In this fun breakaway from reading about textual content for the web, Gillis makes it very clear that employing a powerful color scheme does more than just please the eye. It has the potential to help create a brand’s visual identity, make a first impression, and create emotional connections. Further on, Gillis gives the seven rules for choosing a color scheme with engaging examples.


Visual Identity

I would like to share my thoughts on two topics that really resonated with me. The first is visual identity. If I were to imagine what a website for Chick-fil-A looks like, immediately the colors red and white would come to mind. And, if I actually went to their website and saw every color but those famous red and white colors, I would be utterly confused. Chick-fil-A, in its consistent use of a red-white color scheme on its packaging, within its multiple store locations, and in its employees’ dress code, has solidified this color scheme into its visual identity.


The same brand recognition applies to other popular companies. Someone could show me a specific shade of light blue and yellow and I would quickly associate that color palette with the Golden State Warriors basketball team or Ikea. There are more to colors than what meets the eye. They have the power to speak without words. I have witnessed their messages. Gillis was accurate in claiming that they help create identity. And the more consistent you are in applying a color scheme, the stronger that color palette becomes in shaping identity.



Color Psychology

Color psychology is another topic that I find fascinating. According to Gillis, certain colors elicit specific emotions and portray unique personalities and ideas. Yellow, for example, tends to create a feeling of happiness. Its “personality” is cheerful, and the idea of creativity comes to mind. Because of associations between color and emotions, personalities, and ideas, I can certainly understand why it would be wise to choose a color scheme based off of the kind of user experience one would want for their website visitors.


As I look at the color chart Gilles provides in her article, most of the color associations make sense to me. Green, for instance, represents nature and freshness which does not seem far-fetched—foliage is green, and an many vegetables are freshest when green. However, I cannot help but think that personal experiences play a role in what emotions, personalities, and ideas are associated with certain colors. Orange, according to the color chart, somehow represents confidence, success, bravery, and sociability—none of these come to mind when I see orange. These word associations seem less logical and more experiential.



Applications to Tech Comm

Color palette will never take a back seat in my technical communication activities. I believe colors work their power often without the reader realizing it. Just as user experience is shaped by images, writing tone, textual content, and navigation, it is also influenced by color choices. Whether I am designing a user manual, website content, or even simply a memo, I plan to remember that the user forms a connection between colors and a company that will only get stronger with consistent branding. Additionally, since colors have the capacity to create a certain emotional experience for the user and the ability to help give an entity a personality, I will take this into account when creating deliverables. Colors are clearly more than meets the eye.


24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page